Buhari Bids 10 Outgoing Cabinet Members Farewell

Muhammed Abubakar, Reporting

President Muhammadu Buhari has bidded farewell to 10 members of the Federal cabinet who had resigned following their quest for elective offices ahead of the 2023 general public.

As a result, the president is set to replace the 10 members of his cabinet, Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, disclosed after the President’s valedictory meeting with nine of the ministers at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Friday.

Muhammed said President Buhari has indicated that he would immediately fill the vacancy created by the exit of former members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC).

He also thanked the outgoing ministers for complying with the directive to quit based on their decision to seek elective political offices.

Buhari appreciated them for their services to the country, expressing confidence that, given the experience they had garnered in their services in government, they were equipped to run the states.

President Buhari, however, admonished the rest of the cabinet to be committed to governance for the rest of the life of the administration.

The former ministers present at Friday’s meeting were Abubakar Malami (Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice); Godswill Akpabio (Niger Delta Affairs); Rotimi Amaechi (Transportation) and Ogbonnaya Onu (Science, Technology and Innovation).

Others were Pauline Tallen (Women Affairs); Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment); Timipre Sylva (State, Petroleum Resources); Uche Ogar (State, Mines and Steel Development), and Tayo Alasoadura (State, Niger Delta Affairs).

Stonix News gathered that only Emeka Nwajiuba, the former Minister of State, Education, who was the first to resign, was conspicuously absent at the meeting, but sent his apologies.


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:Politics

0 %