Buhari Swears In 7 New Ministers, Jets Out To Senegal Amid Terrorists’ Attacks 

Muhammed Abubakar, Reporting

President Muhammadu Buhari has, on Wednesday, sworn in seven-newly appointed ministers that were recently confirmed by the Senate.

This is just as the president has jetted out to participate in the International Development Association (IDA) for Africa Summit in Dakar, Senegal.

The President’s trip is coming amid lethal terrorists attacks in the last 24 hours in Nigeria.

On Tuesday, terrorists ambushed and opened fire on an advance convoy of the president headed for Daura, in Katsina his home-state ahead of the Sallah celebration.

Stonix News also reported that an Assistant Commissioner of Police, was gunned down by terrorists in yet another Katsina attack on Tuesday. 

Not done, another set of marauding terrorists, suspected to be Boko Haram, broke into Kuje Medium Correctional Centre in the nation’s capital and set free inmates, including high-profile Boko Haram suspects.

Minister of Defence, Bashir Magashi, had said all Boko Haram suspects in custody escaped during the attack.

President Buhari administered the oath of office on the new cabinet members before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the presidential villa, Abuja.

Those sworn in are Henry Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom), Udi Odum (Rivers), Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano), Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo) and Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi).

Following the swearing-in, President Buhari did a minor re-jig of his cabinet by moving some from their present portfolios to others.

The new assignments showed that Umana becomes the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Gbemisola Saraki moved from Transportation to Minister for State Mines and Steel; Olorunimbe Mammora moved from Health to Minister of State, Science and Technology, and Sharon Ikeazor moved from Environment to Minister of State Niger Delta Affairs.

The other portfolios announced were Muazu Jaji Sambo, Minister of Transportation; Umar Ibrahim El Yakub- Minister of State Works and Housing;

Goodluck Nanah Opiah, Minister of State Education; Ekumankama Joseph Nkama, Minister of State Heath; Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Odum Udi- Minister of State, Environment, and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye- Minister of State, Transportation.

While performing the ceremony, the president urged the new ministerial appointees to consider their emergence as a call to duty which demands diligent service to the nation.

Stonix News reports that the new ministers replaced those who resigned their appointments to contest for various elective office during the 2022 party primaries.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:Politics

0 %