Kogi Assembly Suspends 9 Lawmakers 7 Chairmen

Muhammed Abubakar, Reporting

KOGI State House of Assembly has suspended nine of its members and seven local government areas chairmen and three vice chairmen.

The lawmakers were suspended based on alleged terrorism, while the chairmen and their voices were suspended on account of alleged anti-party activities.

The suspended lawmakers included: Daniya Rayin of Bassa constituency, Muktar Bajeh, Okehi constituency, Kilani Olumo, Ijumu constituency, Moses Akande, Ogori-Magongo constituency, Lawi Ahmed, Okene one, constituency Atule Igbunu, Ibaji constituency, Suleiman Attajachi Musa, IDAH, constituency Aderonke Aro, Yagba West constituency and Bello Hassan Abdullahi, Ajaokuta constituency.

The chairmen handed suspension with their vice chairmen included: Ogori-magongo, Kabba-Bunu, and Bassa, while those with suspended chairmen were Yagba West, Adavi, Ajaokuta, and Ibaji.

Stonix News reports that the suspension of the lawmakers was sequel to a correspondence from Governor Yahaya Bello to the Speaker of the house, while that of the council chairmen and vice chairmen was based on a correspondence from the State chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Abdullahi Bello.

Reading both letters at plenary on Friday, the Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole, said the correspondence from the governor had alleged that the lawmakers were involved in terrorist activities based on security report.

According to him, the correspondence from the state APC chairman alleged that the chairmen and some vice chairmen had engaged in some anti-party activities in the just-concluded elections.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:Politics

0 %